American Postal Workers Union, AFL- CIO in South Africa


Nelson Mandela

In 1994 the following national APWU Officers and staff went to South Africa as “International Election Observers”. Our job was to observe the first one man one vote election ever held in South Africa.  The results was the election of South Africa’s first black President, Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela who served as President of South Africa from 1994 to 1999.




From left to right:

 Randy Sutton, Maintenance Division

Myke Reid, Legislative Department

Judy Beard, Secretary-Treasurer’s Office

Malcolm Smith, Maintenance Division

Teddie Days, Motor Vehicle Service Division

Sidney Brooks, Human Relations Department

J R Smith, Retirees Department

1467253_10202138507818456_1377204697_n (1)

APWU election observers in Johannesburg, South Africa